Pilgrim Pathways: Notes for a Diaspora People

Incarnational Discipleship

The 10 Most Irritating Conservative Celebrities (a Reply to Human Events)

Look, I believe in Free Speech. I believe people are entitled to express their opinions (which is why I have a blog).  I don’t put much stock in the political opinions of celebrities nor do I understand why others do.  I go to see actors in films or comics on stage because I think they’re good, not because I agree with what they believe in private life.  I like Bruce Willis and his films–though I can’t stand his politics.  I was a huge fan of the old TV Western Gunsmoke, despite James Arness’ strong Republican views. So, what? Further, I’m not a real fan of Sean Penn, even though I agree with most of his politics. 

But the conservative journal, Human Events, apparently wants to intimidate celebrities who express views with which they disagree. They have just come up with a list of The 8 Most Irritating Liberal Celebrities which not only names these dreaded liberals, but proceeds to smear them with slanted descriptions.  The 8 celebrities they single out are:

  1. Robert Redford (especially for his environmental activism)
  2. Matt Damon
  3. Al Gore (The former VP is a celebrity? Seriously? Not a Nobel Peace winning activist, author, filmmaker, businessman, former senator and VP who actually won the 2000 presidential election, but a celebrity?)
  4. Janene Garofolo (Hey, I wish she hadn’t gone overboard on tattoos, but she’s very talented.)
  5. Joy Behar
  6. Michael Moore
  7. Rosie O’Donnell
  8. Roger Ebert (They want to pick on a guy in a wheelchair?)

 

So, because this sleazy hit job ticked me off, I wanted to respond. I won’t include descriptions or slander of conservative celebrities because I don’t want to respond in kind. But I will list TEN (10) conservative celebrities that irritate the crap out of me–mostly because people pay them far more attention than they should on subjects on which they have zero expertise.

  1. Ted Nugent.  I could care less that the aging rocker loves guns and the NRA, but standing on stage in ’08 brandishing a machine gun and making obscene threats at then-candidate Barack Obama is just unacceptable.
  2. Victoria Jackson. I loved her on Saturday Night Live, but I seriously think she needs therapy, now.
  3. Stephen Baldwin. I’m mostly irritated that he failed to keep his promise to leave the country if Obama won the election.
  4. Mel Gibson. I can’t stand anti-Semites, but anti-Semites who talk constantly about their Christian faith really annoy me. I can’t even watch Gibson in his great early film, The Year of Living Dangerously anymore.
  5. Dennis Miller.  ‘Nuff said.
  6. Chuck Norris.  I like many of Chuck’s films and the early seasons of Walker, Texas Ranger, but why people care which losing political candidate he’ll back next is beyond me. And Chuck, LOTS of people had family members who died in Vietnam. It doesn’t make them or you an expert on foreign policy or military matters. You’ve PLAYED a soldier; that’s ALL!
  7. Laura Schlessinger. Her Ph.D. is in PHYSIOLOGY, but she pretends to be qualified to give psychological advice, marriage and family counseling, and political analysis.  She’s on her second marriage and lectures people about keeping their marriages together!! And people LISTEN!
  8. Rush Limbaugh.  If I start, I’ll never stop. I think he’s killing America.
  9. Glenn Beck. Again, I can’t start or I’ll be screaming forever. But I HATE that he’s trashing Martin Luther King, Jr.’s legacy by holding a Tea Party event on the anniversary of the March on Washington and “I Have a Dream” speech.
  10. Sarah Palin the “Quitter from Wasilla” who can’t even finish a full term as governor.

These people really bug me. God must use them to teach me patience and love of enemy and other virtues.

June 29, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Michael,
    as an aside, Victoria Jackson attended PBA as well.

    Comment by Fish | July 1, 2010 | Reply

    • Oh, you’re kidding. Oh, how embarrassing!

      Comment by Michael Westmoreland-White | July 1, 2010 | Reply

  2. “But the conservative journal, Human Events, apparently wants to intimidate celebrities who express views with which they disagree.”

    How? By pointing out that they disagree with them?

    “I won’t include descriptions or slander of conservative celebrities because I don’t want to respond in kind. But I will list TEN (10) conservative celebrities that irritate the @#$% out of me–mostly because people pay them far more attention than they should on subjects on which they have zero expertise.”

    And … so … Sean Penn, Robert Redford, Michael Moore, Rosie O’Donnell, Matt Damon and the other celebrities who oft speak out on political issues are experts on what exactly? They are more qualified precisely how?

    “but standing on stage in ’08 brandishing a machine gun and making obscene threats at then-candidate Barack Obama is just unacceptable.” That’s not slander? And that is worse than Jon Stewart’s picture of George W. Bush with the caption “snipers wanted” how?

    “but I seriously think she needs therapy, now.” Again, not slander? And what subject is it that she has no expertise on?

    “I’m mostly irritated that he failed to keep his promise to leave the country if Obama won the election.” Not slander? And what about all the liberal celebrities who promised to leave the country if Bush won?

    “I can’t stand anti-Semites, but anti-Semites who talk constantly about their Christian faith really annoy me. I can’t even watch Gibson in his great early film, The Year of Living Dangerously anymore.” OK, this probably isn’t slander. It still has nothing to do with what you claimed that you were going to write on.

    “Her Ph.D. is in PHYSIOLOGY, but she pretends to be qualified to give psychological advice, marriage and family counseling, and political analysis. She’s on her second marriage and lectures people about keeping their marriages together!! And people LISTEN!” Now this comes close to actually being what you are speaking of. Except … Dr. Laura is a celebrity? In what sense?

    “If I start, I’ll never stop. I think he’s killing America.” Not slander? Related to his lack of credentials how? And in what way is he a celebrity in a Hollywood sense? And how is this not trying to intimidate Limbaugh into silence?

    “Again, I can’t start or I’ll be screaming forever. But I HATE that he’s trashing Martin Luther King, Jr.’s legacy by holding a Tea Party event on the anniversary of the March on Washington and “I Have a Dream” speech.” Not slander? He is a celebrity? And so only liberals are allowed to hold events on that day?

    “the “Quitter from Wasilla” who can’t even finish a full term as governor.” Not slander? And if Al Gore – who won an Academy Award I should point out – is not a celebrity, then how is Palin?

    You didn’t even live up to your own standards. Try again, and this time take the log out of your own eye while you are trying to take the speck out of Human Events’ eye.

    Comment by Job | July 1, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

