Pilgrim Pathways: Notes for a Diaspora People

Incarnational Discipleship

Ted Grimsrud & Peace Theology

I read many peace related blogs, especially Christian and interfatih peace blogs.  I do not mean to denigrate any of them.  However, I am here to say to you that if you only read one internet site dedicated to Christian peacemaking, read Ted Grimsrud’s Peace Theology.net .

Here are Biblical studies, sermons, rough drafts of book chapters, book reviews and more.  They are written from Ted’s perspective as an adult convert to Mennonite Christian pacifism.  His is an Anabaptist vision for the 21st C.  quite similar to my own. (No one is exactly the same.)

Along with J. Denny Weaver, Ted is charting what I believe to be the most hopeful “post-John Howard Yoder” path in Anabaptist pacifist thought.  This is not to run down the excellent work of Gayle Gerber Koontz (though I wish she’d publish more), Duane Friesen, Willard Swartley, or Mark Theissen Nation. (It IS to disagree sharply with the direction mapped out by A. James Reimer.) I disagree with Swartley and Nation on GLBT matters, but they have much else that is worth reading–worth celebrating, even. 

But I think Ted is pushing and prodding Mennonites–and others of us who identify with some or all of Anabaptist perspectives in theology and Christian discipleship–along the path I think we need to go.  Because I am a non-Mennonite, what I write will have a different shape–but it will be informed by Ted’s work in many ways as it already is.

March 16, 2010 - Posted by | blog, peace, theology

2 Comments »

  1. I’ve read snippetts of Reimer before, one day I’ll have to read his Mennonites and Classical Theology as its been sitting on my shelf for a long time.

    Have you posted on him before? I can’t recall anything.

    Comment by Richard | March 17, 2010 | Reply

    • I haven’t and this isn’t really on him, either. It’s on Grimsrud.

      Comment by Michael Westmoreland-White | March 17, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

