Pilgrim Pathways: Notes for a Diaspora People

Incarnational Discipleship

Profiles of Baptist Biblical Scholars

I got the idea for this series from Andy Goodliff who has a series on British Baptist Ph.D.s, Principals of Baptist (theological) colleges, Festschriften, and, on his Baptist History and Thought blog, a series on Baptist Church historians.  So, I thought I’d start this series because Baptist biblical scholars are often unrecognized by the theological world: mainstream to liberal scholars are assumed to be non-Baptist because Baptists are assumed to be “conservative.” (This is otherwise known as “Wait! You mean Norman Gottwald is a Baptist?? Are you sure? Not an ex-Baptist?”) And evangelical Baptist scholars just get lumped in with other capital “E” Evangelicals and their Baptist identity (and commitments) ignored. (“Craig Blomberg’s a Baptist, huh? Well, I assumed it was some kind of conservative something.” ) 

So, I will profile living and dead Baptist biblical scholars, focusing on those for whom Baptist identity was important, and who made major contributions to biblical scholarship.  The profiles will be linked on a page for easy access as soon as I’ve done three.  Expect the first tomorrow.

February 11, 2010 - Posted by | Baptists, Bible, Biblical interpretation

2 Comments »

  1. I think this is a great idea. I am a former American Baptist who set off down the Canterbury Trail a few years back, but I still have deep affinity for my Baptist roots. One of the great theologians of this generation is James Wm. McClendon, Jr. Stanley Hauerwas wrote a beautiful ewssay on Jim’s theology: “Reading James Wm. McClendon Jr. takes practice.” Good luck, and I’ll be reading with great interest. JM

    Comment by John McNassor | February 12, 2010 | Reply

    • Welcome, John. My dissertation tested and (slightly) modified McClendon’s methodology in ethics. I did it under Glen Stassen. Stan Hauerwas is a friend–with whom I don’t always agree. 🙂

      Drop by anytime.

      Comment by Michael Westmoreland-White | February 12, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

